Filming: Lighting, choreography, narrative.

 

 

I created a story line based on the emotional significance of cherished weathered tactile objects and their display-influenced by the Wunderkammer. The setting is a three tiered glass display cabinet filled with made and found objects .  The puppet choreography was dictated by what I could fit on each shelf and how much I could move them. The rhythm of the movement will be synchronized with some music by yours truly.

Screen shot 2017-04-26 at 09.57.16

Screen shot 2017-04-26 at 09.31.09

 

Screen shot 2017-04-26 at 09.39.58

Stop motion animation is a very laborious process, getting the lighting right took over an hour for each sequence. Controlling shine on metal and reflective surfaces was very difficult especially as I wanted to get some atmospheric shadows. I had many accidents -knocking things over, dropping a teacup doll, bumping in to the camera so the position shifted and I had to start all over! Plus the technical issues! Nonetheless I have filmed sequences I think will be ok, not as slick as Disney or Pixar but then I don’t want that!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

